What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #050 - Mark Neese & The Best Books of 2023
0:00
-1:24:07

WAIM #050 - Mark Neese & The Best Books of 2023

Friend, library cataloguer, and fellow nerd Mark Neese drops by to share his favorite books of 2023. Mark's library experience and fascination with cultural history shine through in his eclectic list.

My friend Mark Neese is not only an avid reader, but his gig as a cataloguer at Lansing’s Capital Area District Library expands his literary universe far beyond what a regular appetite for reading would normally allow for. Much like my chats with Kevin Alexander and my daughter Maddie recounting their best music of 2023, Mark lets me cheat off of his homework to share his favorite books of the year.

We cover the genius of Paul McCartney and his brilliant new volume of photos form the year the Beatles broke. There’s a trio of graphic novels that capture everything from a young woman’s lonely journey of adolescence, to the rise of a dictator, to the story of a long-forgotten sit-down strike told within the locker room of a semi-pro hockey team.

Mark shares his first experience with a legendary YA novel that is the only cheat on the list. There is a surprising entry with a special story behind it. And of course, there are tons of words on music from Echo & The Bunnymen to Black Sabbath, the Beatles, and the drug addled past and present of Detroit’s radical music scene.

In addition to his favorite books of 2023, we talk about Mark’s son living in Germany and the amazing travel opportunities that has provided the Neese family. There is a brief recap of some of Mark’s favorite films from the year too. We also hit upon Mark’s love of music more than once in a varied and truly lovely conversation.

Come hang with me and Mark in the Sheddio to find out the new books you’ll be picking up the next time you hit the local library. Hope ya dig it. Here is the full list.

  1. Acid Detroit: A Psychedelic Story Of Motor City Music by Joe Molloy

  2. Untold Power: The Fascinating Rise and Complex Legacy of First Lady Edith Wilson by Rebecca Roberts

  3. Into the Void: From Birth to Black Sabbath – and Beyond - Geezer Butler

  4. Accidental Czar: The Life And Lives Of Vladimir Putin - Andrew S. Weiss and Brian “Box” Brown

  5. 1964: Eyes of the Storm - Paul McCartney

  6. Monica - Dabile Clowes

  7. Echoes - Will Sergeant

  8. Strikers! - Kiel Phegley and Jacques Khouri

  9. Westminster Abbey Souvenir Guide - Esme West and James Wilkinson

  10. Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret - Judy Blume

Cheers,

Matty C

Leave a comment

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com