What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #059 - Community Is Crucial *Bonus Episode*
2
0:00
-25:36

WAIM #059 - Community Is Crucial *Bonus Episode*

Four years of online friendship and community came together in Las Vegas recently to give me one of the greatest weekends of my life.
2

In the winter of 2016, I bought a brand new Chevy Equinox. The car came with all sorts of appointments and accessories I’d never had in a vehicle, including a three month trial subscription for Sirius XM Radio. I was very excited about this perk. As someone who drove 40,000 miles a year, I was thrilled at the idea of always being able to get a Tiger game or NPR on the radio no matter how remote my locale might have been

Not long after I began driving my new whip every day, I discovered something called Stand Up With Pete Dominick. It was a three hour news and pop culture show with great guests and a funny, smart host. Pete and his producers/co-hosts became a fixture in my daily driving. After a time, I began to think of them as something like friends despite the fact they had no idea of my existence in the world.

My daughter Hannah would often listen with me in the car while we drove to one school or another as I ran my cap and gown business. She too began to know some of the folks from the show and even a few of the inside jokes. We’d often talk about the guests that were on, or mention something smart we’d remembered from an interview a few days earlier. Pete and his show had become a small part of my family.

One morning in the Fall of 2019, I tuned into Pete’s show just in time to catch a very important message. That day, would be the last day on the air for Stand Up With Pete Dominick at Sirius XM. I felt as though I had been punched in the abdomen, and unable to catch my breath. The loss of this show as part of my daily routine felt like a sort of death. When I told Hannah she was furious and then we were both just plain sad. I was losing my friends.

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Looking at it objectively, it was ridiculous. I was emotionally vexed at the cancellation of a radio show. I didn't know those people and they didn't know me. Still, I felt bad for the team, and especially for Pete. It was obvious in his sign-off message he was crushed. Again, the pallor of death kept filling the room despite the fact it was “only a radio show”.

A few weeks after the final show, I got an email spelling out Pete’s idea for a new podcast. It began as a semi-regular show with two or three episodes a week right at first. Pete struggled with the new technology of hosting, recording, editing and sharing a podcast. He worked through a steep learning curve without the producers that he used to rely upon at his side.

Within a matter of weeks, Pete was back to hosting a new show every weekday. The format shifted and evolved over time, but interviews of Pete’s esteemed and brilliant guests were always the focus. These days, Pete’s show begins with a news section of fifteen to twenty minutes followed by a long-form interview with guests on topics ranging from world news to climate change, parenting, philosophy, and more. With each successive show, Pete has honed his interviewing skills, his logistical chops, and continued to grow his audience.

When the pandemic hit in the spring of 2020, Pete and the Stand Up community began convening for weekly hangout sessions on Zoom. A group of listeners would show up to chat with Pete on the topics from the week’s show, and to share things from each other’s personal lives. For weeks after the hangouts began, I kept thinking, “I really should jump on one of these”, but my procrastination or calendar would keep me from joining in on one.

Eventually, I sent Pete an email telling him how much I appreciated the show. I also expressed my admiration for the way he had persevered after losing his high profile gig at Sirius. Not only did Pete respond to the email, but he sent me his number and offered to chat over the phone so we could get to know each other better. During the chat, I was quite nervous. This was someone that I’d admired for years and had thought of as a friend. Now, we were talking to each one on one.

Share

The call prompted to me to join the hangout the following week. Pete welcomed me and even made a point to introduce me to the group. The hangouts were always informative, hilarious, and insightful. Some weeks they would focus on the topics of the day, and then shift the next to week to deeply personal stories about racism, sexism, trauma, ADHD, and so much more. Almost immediately, Thursday nights became reserved for my new set of internet friends.

So many members of the Stand Up community were key to my 2023 tour. I was hosted by five different folks from the community and more than a dozen others made a point to come out and see me on the road. On my jaunts this coming summer, these numbers are sure to grow exponentially. Since I began the Substack, Pete has been a guest on the show and so have many of the members of the community who do their own great creative work. For more than three years now, these folks have been a regular part of my routine, week in and week out. Many have become friends in the real world. The SUPD community has been a true blessing in so many ways.

After months of planning, the Stand Up With Pete Dominick Crew recently got together in Las Vegas for a weekend long event called PODJAM. The two day event would feature live podcast tapings, stand up comedy, live music and a chance for our community to get together in person.

Here is the story of a wild weekend in Vegas that was awe-inspiring, rejuvenating, nerve-wracking, and just plain incredible.


A large portion of the Stand Up With Pete Dominick crew at PodJam in Las Vegas, March of 2024.

I arrived in Las Vegas - my first time, thank you very much - around 7:30 on a Thursday night and was fortunate to have a ride waiting for me in the pickup lot. It took some doing for me to get to the spot where my ride was waiting, but I eventually found Gareth Sever, a friend from the community and Becca, the son of Cassie Rice, a community member who organized this entire event. More on Cassie later.

We were, of course, very excited to see each other, and as Becca drove us to the hotel where Gareth would be staying, and to pick up our friend and musician Jon Carroll. Both Jon and Gareth would be performing during the musical section of the main show and I was pumped to chat with them about their plans, arrangements, song choices and more. They’re both tremendous performers and I was so excited to be able to watch them do their thing.

After whisking Jon out of the hotel, we made our way to the Air BnB where I would be staying. There was a meet and greet put together by a couple of my housemates and things had already kicked off by the time we arrived. The sensation of walking into a party where I knew everyone and had met almost no one was surreal and profound. I stopped in my tracks for just a moment to take in everything going on around me. I could feel myself smiling.

Slowly, I made my way around the party to dole out big hugs, and introductions, and get to know my virtual friends in real life. Nearly instantly I found myself with a beer in hand and we were off and running. Each time a new guest arrived there were hoots and hollers and more hugs. We caroused late into the evening and I cavorted with the best of them. Despite missing my dinner completely due to flight times and my childlike excitement, and living on East Coast time, I managed to see 2:00 am before I hit the sheets.

Leave a comment

I awoke just after 7:00 the next morning with a pounding headache. The lack of a meal on Thursday night had not been an issue at the time, but in retrospect was a terrible idea. Like a true rookie, I found myself hungover on my first morning in Las Vegas. The nausea ebbed and flowed with irregularity and I found myself sweating profusely despite the exterior temperature being quite mild. I chugged down a few ibuprofen, cleaned myself up a bit, and headed down to find coffee.

My housemate Cindy from the Southside of Chicago was already in the kitchen making coffee and cleaning a bit from the night before. We talked at length about her autistic children and the life that she has built around that. While we chatted, Cindy and I discovered that the refrigerator was no longer working. Two other housemates Sandy and Frances came down to that news and we laughed at the luck and enjoyed coffee while shared our lives with each other.

By mid-morning, our last housemate Vikki arrived, and the day began to really move forward. Vikki is a resilient and remarkable woman who has lived a very interesting, but not always easy life. She lives in Atlanta with her husband and is a part-time caregiver for two small granddaughters with Sickle Cell Anemia. Vikki is nothing short of amazing. I had assumed that was the case, but it took just a cup of coffee with Vikki to get the true sense of her strength and resolve. But oh, what love she radiates. Everything lights up around Vikki.

Despite my wonderful morning with these wonderful people I had discovered an issue with my phone. While I could feel alerts vibrating as I got texts and emails, there was nothing visible on the screen but a dark grey background. Despite several attempts at a reset, I was unable to get it to function. Eventually it was time to hit the road. I would have to deal with the phone thing later in the day.

Our first stop of the day was Planet 13, the world’s largest cannabis dispensary. I am sure my mother will recoil at the thought of me going weed shopping in Vegas, but I was with Vikki, so it’s okay. The place is a freaking shopping mall. There is a full-on laboratory, a chocolate making operation that is publicly visible, and starter plants for all types of cannabis.

The shop was packed with customers and set up in very Vegas fashion. Light shows, gadgetry, games, and more gave the place the feel of an amusement park more than “drug store”. Still, it was fun to people watch and take in the absolute circus of it all. The sensory overload was so very Las Vegas.

After leaving the weed shop, we hopped into Vikki’s rental and made our way to the CraftHaus, a German-style brewpub not too far from Planet 13. Driving around the edges of Vegas, I witnessed the massive income inequality that permeates the area. Within what felt like blocks the neighborhoods would shift from affluent to poor to semi-affluent and then back again. It was a see saw of haves and have nots.

We tumbled out of the car ready for lunch and a beer. I was first through the door and could spot immediately that the small beer hall did not hold our other compatriots. A cursory Google search found a second CraftHaus location much nearer to our venue and lodging. Once again, we were back on the road.

Having finally found our crew at the second location, I ordered a Coke, some Bavarian pretzels and a beer brat. The nausea had mostly abated, but I was still wary that the meal might not settle calmly. The headache had also improved but I was sweating like a madman. I managed to get the food down with no issue and quickly began to feel better. A huge glass of water, another Coke, and things were really beginning to turn around for ole Matty C.

After a stint back at the house for some beer and more catching up, we made our way to the venue that Cassie Rice had arranged for us to use for the weekend. When I had heard we would be having Podjam in a tent, I figured we were taking about the sort you’d rent for a wedding or an open house. I was not expecting the four spire circus tent that Cassie and her family own and use for their annual VIVA Fest.

Photos by Barry Hummel.

Inside, we found a bar, and an area where community member Cary Williams had brought his entire professional DJ rig from his home near Lake Tahoe to entertain us for the weekend when tapings, comedy and music weren't happening.

Friday night’s agenda was largely built around an interview with author and political commentator Jared Yates Sexton. Jared and Pete had a terrific discussion about the upcoming election, the state of authoritarianism in America today, and whole lot more. It was a sobering, but hopeful conversation that included more than its fair share of laughter as well.

I’d interviewed Jared here on the pod early on, and he was gracious enough to remember me after the show was over. He and I shared stories from our lives in the year since we had last talked. We had both shifted our lives a fair amount in the interim and made plans to talk again for the pod very soon. Jared was also kind enough to share some of his bourbon with me.

The rest of the evening was a party that moved from the venue back to an Air BnB where I continued to forge real-life friendships from this once virtual community. Nearly everyone who arrived in any locale by any members of the group were met with open arms and hearty hellos. There was no point in the weekend not utterly filled with love and fellowship.

The next morning I was up and alert at 7:30. It was sure to be a full day of events at the tent, including taping of the very first live episode of the WAIM podcast. Not only would I be recording a podcast for the first time in front of a live audience, I would be doing so to start the event at a bright and early 10:00 am.

There would be no opportunity for me to get to a T-Mobile store or a phone repair shop before my taping. I would have to roll for a few more hours with a dead phone and attempt to deal with it after my portion of the show was complete. Surely, there would be time later in the day.

I arrived at the tent just after 9:00 and met up with Pete as I walked in. We covered some technical stuff and did a quick sound check. I found my guest Gareth Sever slurping a coffee and sneaking in a breakfast sandwich before we got things rolling. Attendees continued to arrive at the tent and I began to get myself ready for the show.

It was a more than respectable audience for a 10:00 am taping. That made me both excited and a little more nervous. I took a few deep breaths, made sure Gareth was ready and we headed up to the stage. As I settled into my chair, I placed the headphones over my ears and felt just a bit off. I knew that with the lights, the audience and the surroundings, this would be a bit weird as we hit the road. I kept telling myself, “It’s just a conversation”.

I’ll have loads more to say about the interview with Gareth when it posts in the near future, but suffice it to say, it was a hit. The crowd followed along with laughter and attention while we chatted over a wide variety of topics including ADHD, confidence, talent, drive, and a whole lot more I truly cannot wait to share.

Gareth Sever and yours truly at the live taping of WAIM at PodJam in Las Vegas, March 2024.

For the next seven hours, the tent was full of podcast tapings. JL Cauvin performed his brilliant Donald Trump for a full hour as a part of his show, Making Podcasts Great Again. My dear friends Barry and Abigail Hummel taped an episode of their show, Pops on Hops with community member and musician, Nick Martino. The Hummels then appeared a second time on stage as guests with comedian Ophira Eisenberg for her show, Parenting Is A Joke.

Jared Yates Sexton returned for a taping of his Muckrake podcast, and comedian Christian Finnegan interviewed Grammy winner, musician, and community member Jon Carroll. Despite the fact that so much of the attention was focused on folks from the community, the interviews were fascinating, hilarious, illuminating, and so very much fun. After a brief break for dinner, the main event took place in the evening with stand up comedy from Christina Finnegan, JL Cauvin, and Ophira Eisenberg. Pete also appeared as host and told a few jokes, but largely served as moderator for the evening.

Music took center stage once the comedy finished. Gareth came out to play a number of songs he had written specifically for the event, including a ten minute epic entitled, “The Ballad Of Pete Dominick”. Nick Martino joined on the trumpet. Jon Carroll closed the evening with a set of his terrific originals, including the Stand Up theme song which Jon wrote for Pete not knowing it would eventually become the theme. Ever the one to spread joy, Jon coordinated with a local performing arts school to get a choir of eight students to join him on stage for that theme as he closed the show. Several community members came onstage as well, including darling Vikki Robinson, who has a gorgeous set of pipes. The room was filled with joy as the entire crowd sang along with John and the kids.

The rest of the evening is a bit of a blur. There was conversation, camaraderie, more new people, and loads of laughter. Eventually, the party moved back to the Air BnB and we caroused late into the evening. Around 1:30, my housemates hit the road for home. With other options for a ride later in the night, I opted to stay and soak up the fun for every last drop.

Around 2:30, I emerged from the game room to find that anyone and everyone not staying at this Air BnB had left, save for me. Now, I was without a car and without a phone for an Uber. So, I made up a bed on the couch and settled in for a few hours of sleep.

I was up early the next morning and fiddled more with my phone in a vain attempt to resurrect it. As other folks arose for the day, I was eventually able to snag a ride back to my house to shower, check my iPad for text alerts form the last 24 hours and to maybe get a bit more rest.

Amanda, a community member from Los Angeles was kind enough to drive me the fifteen minutes to my Air BnB. We chatted about her work in the medical education field, and our glowing feelings from the weekend. At the house on Vaccaro Street, I hopped out and bid Amanda adieu. With no car in the driveway, I assumed my housemates had headed to breakfast. No worries, we had been leaving the place unlocked for the weekend anyway.

Until now.

Leave a comment

The door was solidly locked and without access to my phone, I had no way to find the door code to unlock it. A wave of panic flew through my body and I raced back to the street to try to catch Amanda. I ran as fast as my fat ass could go to flag her down but it was all to no avail. I’m frequently told how loud I am, and yet not even my booming yell down a quiet Sunday morning street could catch my ride.

I was pretty sure I was screwed. This house was in a neighborhood off the beaten path out in Henderson, Nevada. I wasn't in a spot where I could easily walk to anything, and again with no phone, I could not order a car. My breath began to quicken, my arms became tingly and I felt myself veering straight to a panic attack. Then, I saw a possible escape.

Two doors down, a man had come out to take in his garbage cans. I flagged him down and asked if I could get his help with a very strange situation. Thankfully, Rory was understanding, patient and kind. I asked if he might order a Lyft and I could pay him in cash. He hardly flinched. Rory ordered a car that would arrive in less than five minutes. I handed him a twenty, shook his hand and felt so very grateful for his generosity of spirit.

Another fifteen minutes later and I was back at the house on Cedar where I had just been. I brought my friends up to speed on my failed trip to my place and they laughed at the image of me trucking down the street trying to flag down Amanda as she sped away.

After a few phone calls with my housemates on a borrowed phone, I got wind of the plan for the day and my pal Scott from Tennessee was kind enough to order me a car to meet Vikki and a gang of folks for brunch. As the Lyft driver, my third chauffeur for the day already dropped me off, I began to panic that I was, like the CraftHaus, once again at the wrong location. For a solid ten minutes I stood sure that I was once again stranded with no phone and no idea where to go. The panic began to arrive again. My mind raced for possible solutions. Then, I looked up to see Vikki’s rental and a few of my friends pulling into the lot.

We hit the T-Mobile store after some bacon and eggs. I said my goodbyes to Vikki and Cindy as they headed to the airport. Eventually, I was able to get a new phone at T-Mobile. I had hoped to just have it repaired, but there was no in-house tech. So, $900 and 90 minutes later, I emerged with a new phone and called a car to meet the remaining crew at Able Baker Brewing in downtown Vegas. Below you’ll see the one image I managed to capture of the weekend after getting my phone functioning at the last minute.

Some the SUPD crew outside Able Baker Brewing in Las Vegas, March 2024.

After a couple of flights, we sauntered down to a used clothing shop run by Cassie’s daughter. The place was very reasonably priced and had a great selection of men’s stuff, which is not always typical in the thrift store game. I found a very nice Woolrich flannel for $18 that fit well. I paid for it, and made my way outside.

We took a cruise of the strip, found a nice Italian dinner and then Barry Hummel and I settled in for a few beers at the bar inside the Sunset Station casino. It was my first and only time inside a Vegas casino and I was happy to sit and drink with my friend, Barry. We recapped the weekend and marveled again at how lucky we felt to be a member of such a special thing.

The weekend for me was rejuvenating, inspiring, amazing, and life affirming. I’m so thrilled and humbled to have found this group of folks who have become my friends and also my supporters here at his space. I am so excited to see so many of these folks again on my tours this year. And of course, we will still have our regular Thursday night hangouts. I am guessing that we will find those to be even more special in the days following PodJam.

Thank you so much to Pete Dominick for building this community and thank you to the beautiful people who populate it. I am working so very hard every day to build something similar here at WAIM. It’s wonderful to have a template to work from that has been built so beautifully by Pete and the SUPD Crew. I am forever grateful to them, and to you.

Cheers,
Matty C

2 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com