What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #060 - Gareth Sever Live From PodJam In Las Vegas
0:00
-59:37

WAIM #060 - Gareth Sever Live From PodJam In Las Vegas

This week, I get to share a live episode of WAIM from PodJam in Las Vegas featuring performer, musician, dancer and actor Gareth Sever.

I was thrilled to be invited to record a live episode of WAIM at the first ever PodJam in Las Vegas. The invite came to be on the docket a bit later than I would normally like to prepare, but when the chance came up, I knew just the man to interview; Gareth Sever.

Gareth has become a friend through the Stand Up With Pete Dominick Community, the group at the heart of the PodJam event. You can learn all about my wild weekend in Vegas that included the world’s largest weed shop, living for 48 hours without a phone, and more laughter and hugs than a three day weekend could possibly contain. 

We started things off by me simply asking Gareth how he describes himself. That immediately launched us into a conversation about imposter syndrome, and the work that’s required in finding self-confidence. We talked about Gareth’s background as a street performer and how it made him adaptable. He shares that his ADHD is probably a blessing in making him multifaceted, but in his mind it might have also kept him from being truly great at just one thing. 

Eventually, Gareth parlayed his street performing into an accidental career as a dancer, musician, and performer/business owner with his troupe, Buckets and Boards. With his partner Matt, Gareth travels the country performing their original shows that feature music, percussion, comedy and more. They hold regular residencies where they live in Branson, MO, tour throughout North America, and regularly play aboard the Disney Cruise lines to entertain the tourists.

Share

There is a great discussion of limitations and finding a way to present a genuine version of yourself while performing. We discuss the complicated history of tap dance, turning the listening up, and we even get a life lesson from a monk named Pasquale. 

Gareth not only appeared on the pod during the event on Saturday, but he also was a featured musical performer during the evening portion of the program. During his set, he performed a number of original songs written about members of the Stand Up community, and included stories from our weekly zoom hangouts. He opened his set with a ten minute epic called ‘The Ballad Of Pete Dominick’ that musically told the history of the group, some of its more important players, and a whole load of inside jokes. Gareth’s musical acumen and devilish wordplay are a joy to witness in person.

Leave a comment

This conversation was such a treat to record, especially in front of a live audience. You will notice a bit of wind noise as we were recording in a tent in the Nevada desert. The audience is not miced up, but you will hear a smattering of laughter and such. I assure you, the contingent in the room was stronger than I would have believed it would be for a 10:00 am taping after a long night of carousing. 

Enjoy this conversation with me and the wickedly talented Gareth Sever.

Cheers,

Matty C

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com