What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #048 - Maddie Carlson Shares Her Favorite Music of 2023
11
0:00
-1:25:58

WAIM #048 - Maddie Carlson Shares Her Favorite Music of 2023

I got to take a deep dive with my eldest daughter Madeline on her favorite records from 2023. This one is extra special, gang. I am super excited to share this with y'all.
11

My daughter Maddie mentioned that she wanted to talk to me about the new music she had discovered in 2023, and wondered if we could record it for the pod. For years now, she and her sister have talked about starting a podcast and I so badly wish they would stop dilly dallying and just get to recording. They are hilarious, smart and interesting. Plus, even if they’re the only ones who listen to it, it’s totally worth it. 

Needless to say, I was thrilled when I was approached with this query. Within minutes we had a date on the calendar and before I knew it we were recording in the sheddio. As we got going, she confessed that she was nervous and hoped she would do a good job. Maddie was concerned she wouldn’t have enough adjectives or be able to describe things in enough detail. 

Share

I assured her she would be great. I knew she would, even if it took her a bit to get comfortable. Before we had finished discussing the first record I was fighting back the tears of a terribly proud father. It’s been so important for Kimmy and I to raise thoughtful, sensitive, observant, and conscientious young women. To see that displayed so vividly in the confines of the sheddio was a genuine treat.

Maddie and I bounce through her ten favorite records of the year and even cover a handful of honorable mentions. You’ll find indie pop, omnichord, singer/songwriters, broken hearts and even some metal. It’s quite the list and quite the charming journey as Maddie takes us through her best of 2023 on the turntable. 

Leave a comment

She was even kind enough to put a playlist together for us with tracks form all of her selections. You can find playlists below for both Apple Music and Spotify.

Enjoy!

Cheers,

Matty C

MADDIE'S BEST OF 2023 ON APPLE MUSIC

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLAYING VIA SPOTIFY

11 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com