What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #061 - Kevin Alexander Travel Talk & Airline Dirt
2
0:00
-1:27:12

WAIM #061 - Kevin Alexander Travel Talk & Airline Dirt

WAIM welcomes back fellow Substacker Kevin Alexander for a deep dive in to the airline industry, and a look at his recent list of 13 films that help you learn what kind of guy Kevin is.
2
Transcript

No transcript...

As soon as I got home from my trip to Central America with my mother, I was dying to talk to Kevin Alexander. Every time I fly, especially internationally, I find myself amazed at the soulless nature of air travel. The security checks are an unpleasant invasion of privacy with ever-changing rules. Communication is often lacking and signage is poor, or non-existent. Like so many travelers, I just wanted to know why the experience had to be so unpleasant. Thankfully, I knew just the man to talk to about it. 

Kevin Alexander is not only the terrific writer behind On Repeat, he has also spent a career in the airline industry. During my time here at WAIM, Kevin has become a supporter and a friend. I was sure there were reasons behind the airport experience so many of us dread when we fly, and I thought Kevin might be able to shed some light on things. 

Our conversation is a deep dive into what a day at the airport looks like for those who spend their careers there. We talk about the short-staffing that is hampering the industry, especially at the TSA. Kevin sheds a fair amount of light on an industry that has endured rapid change during his career alone. 

Share

At one point, I make sure to mention what a miracle air travel really is. For all of us who bitch about it, we should never forget what a true luxury and miracle it really is. Sadly, that wonder is lacking in the way that airports are designed and arranged for the passenger. Most of us feel like so much cattle being prodded through different lines and corrals. Kevin and I look at ways in which we might return some of the humanity and excitement to air travel once again. 

We also talk about Kevin’s own history of travel, which includes everything from humble camping trips along his native Oregon coast to playing in a soccer tournament in Malta. This is a fun, and fascinating chat with a man who gives us his open personal window seat from which to view the airline industry, and how it affects the way we travel each day. 

Cheers,

Matty C

Leave a comment

2 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com