What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #058 - John Tallman of Half Catholic
0:00
-1:06:21

WAIM #058 - John Tallman of Half Catholic

This week, I've got John Tallman from the Rockford, IL band, Half Catholic. We talk about the omerta of DIY music scenes, getting cool shit from an older sibling, and being Christened by rock n roll.

John Tallman didn’t plan to be in a band. It happened as organically as it could have. After having been bathed in the holy water of rock and roll by his older brother, John has spent a life gravitating towards interesting sounds. 

Describing music as a “window to a new world”, rock and roll opened a new door of thinking for young John. He was immediately drawn to the fact that this was not something designed by adults but an entity built by and for young people. 

For nearly two decades now, Tallman has been following the clarion call of jangle pop. His terrific band Half Catholic have been very active since forming less than three years ago. They’ve released an EP and a pair of terrific singles, and it feels as though they are just getting warmed up. 

Share

John and I also dove into the Rockford scene specifically, and spoke more broadly about the state of small towns like Rockford and Lansing that often have a chip on their shoulders and punch above their respective cultural weight class. 

It’s a ranging discussion with an interesting dude still out there on the front lines making great guitar based rock and roll. It might be a dying artform, but John Tallman is going to go down swinging. 

Cheers,
Matty C

Leave a comment

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com