What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #056 - J Virus
0:00
-1:50:01

WAIM #056 - J Virus

Archivist, artist, and my former bandmate J Virus stops by the sheddio to chat about his 13 films list, seeing the sun rise over the Rockies for the first time and how to get out of your comfort zone.

J Virus is someone I have admired and thought of as a friend for thirty years. J and I were in a band called Third Uncle back in our very early twenties. It was a formative time for both of us, but after the band split up, we saw very little of each other in the intervening years. Over the last couple of years we have reconnected. J’s archive work and my work here have found us once at merging paths and it's been wonderful to have J in my life again. 

J even reached out recently and offered his list for our 13 Films To Get To Know Me Series. His horror laden-list was a big hit and prompted a ton of really fun discussion. We used J’s list as a jumping off point for our discussion. It’s a great segue into a bit of history on J’s youth and how he first came to travel the world. 

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

We share similar stories of our granddads hitchhiking across the American west and back and wondering if that is part of where our wanderlust might have originated. There is much discussion of our shared love for Italy, specifically for Rome. We cover my theory on why Prague and Budapest feel like the midwest of Europe and J suggests very wisely that we as Americans have a “Long history of destroying our history.”

There is a harrowing story of what could have been when J was in Thailand with friends during the deadly tsunami. J talks openly about the luck of their simple decision and how it affected not only the lives of J and his fellow travelers, but also a bevy of loved ones back home. We also cover some of J’s discomfort with the idea of travel at this point in his life and figuring out how to best measure the costs and benefits of it. 

Leave a comment

Finally, we end on the idea that the adaptability that travels forces us to learn makes us better travelers and better people. J and I share stories of rolling with punches on the road and doing our best to look for the bright side in the darker moments. 

I was thrilled to have this engaging and fascinating conversation with my old friend. Enjoy. 

Cheers,

Matty C

Share

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com