What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #055 - Pete Dominick
0:00
-1:05:50

WAIM #055 - Pete Dominick

Podcaster and comedian Pete Dominick returns to the pod to discuss morning routines, life as an independent creator, using humor as a weapon, and putting his money where his mouth is.
Transcript

No transcript...

Pete Dominick was an inspiration for me when I began What Am I Making. Before I started publishing, I reached out to Pete and asked for his advice. He encouraged me to begin the work and figure out what it all meant afterward. Pete encouraged me to stay in the moment and to enjoy the process. I took his advice and I ran with it. 

It was hard not to take Pete’s sage wisdom seriously. After all, this was a man who had hosted a national radio show for fourteen years and one day found himself without a contract. In Pete’s other appearances on the pod, we discussed the pain of that job loss in depth. Instead of lamenting his loss, Pete set to work building an independent podcast network. That work has been going on now for more than four years, and has more than a thousand episodes as proof of its own success.

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Perhaps the greatest accomplishment of Pete’s work, at least in my estimation, is the community that he has built around his show. It’s a group of hilarious, intelligent, diverse, and empathetic souls that are a direct reflection of the kind of person that Pete Dominick is, and the sort of people he brings together. Later this month, that community will gather in person for the first time at an event in Las Vegas called the Stand Up Pod Jam. We talk about Pete’s feelings around the big event on the horizon and what it means to him to have built a community like that.

During our chat, Pete and I also discuss the importance of a morning routine and how it has transformed each of our lives. Pete sings the praises of meditation and of journaling. We cover the unfortunate nature of folks preening at the gym and on vacation. There is also a story about how we both use humor as a weapon, but in surprisingly divergent ways. 

Share

Recently, Pete has also stood up to a bully in his local town. We talk about the act of actually being the change in the world that we want to see, and what it takes to make that happen. It’s a moment where Pete has put the name of his show, Stand Up, into action in his own life. 

This is a great chat with a podcaster and interviewer that I admire and appreciate. I am proud to call him a friend and to welcome him back to the show.

Cheers,

Matty C

What did you think of my chat with Pete?

Leave a comment

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com