What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #051 - Peter Bruntnell
2
0:00
-1:13:53

WAIM #051 - Peter Bruntnell

This week on the pod, I chat with British singer/songwriter Peter Bruntnell on a career writing songs, how it takes someone else to show us our worth, and why the song can always be better.
2
Transcript

No transcript...

Rolling Stone once declared Peter Bruntnell to be, “one of England’s best kept musical secrets”. England has successfully managed to keep Peter Bruntnell a secret for all this time, even from itself. 

It took someone else to show Peter Bruntnell his own true talent. He began by playing Neil Young and Nick Drake songs in local pubs when a producer noticed his voice and struck up a conversation. Bruntnell describes himself as “comfortable” playing other people’s songs as he began, and may have continued doing nothing more than that until Vic Martin came and asked him if he had any songs of his own. 

Bruntnell soon played his songs for Martin, who was unimpressed. Peter went back to work and began writing more intentionally and with greater care. Eventually, he would emerge with the songs for his first album, Cannibal

Share

Live Review: Bill Kirchen + Peter Bruntnell, Night & Day Café, Manchester –  July 28th 2022 – Americana UK

Nearly thirty years into his recording career, Bruntnell is now on the verge of his fifteenth LP and is still always on the prowl for a better song. In our chat we cover his love for the American midwest and touring with Son Volt as well as how he is now mentoring younger artists the same way Vic Martin and Pete Smith mentored him. 

Leave a comment

One English tabloid newspaper with an uncharacteristically decent, albeit it very small, album reviews section was surprisingly on the mark in saying, “He is Britain’s best kept secret for whom the word ‘underappreciated’ was surely invented”. The glossy British music mag Mojo continued very much along the same lines with, “Somehow, some way, this cult and infinitely class songwriter must get his due wider recognition”. He still hasn’t.

Here’s hoping we can unleash the secret genius of Peter Bruntell one listener at a time here at WAIM. 

Enjoy!

Cheers,
Matty C

2 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com