What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
WAIM #070 - Eddie White And Awendaw Green
2
0:00
-50:15

WAIM #070 - Eddie White And Awendaw Green

This week, I get introduce you to the whirlwind that is Eddie White. By day he is a dentist, but every Wednesday night he becomes the impresario of a wild musical universe called Awendaw Green.
2

Eddie White is the sort of man who never stops. By day, he is a dentist in the Charleston, SC area. Every Wednesday night is the impresario of the Awendaw Green, a spacious outdoor compound hosting live music every week unless there is a holiday or a hurricane. Eddie describes the Green as “arrogantly shabby”. It’s a perfect descriptor. 

Old instruments, broken bicycles, reclaimed lawn decorations and more hang from the trees overhead at Awendaw Green. There is a ramshackle splendor to the large open space under the trees and their massive ornaments. The green is littered with picnic tables, vendor booths, a wood fired pizza oven, a series of dire pits, and a huge stage fitted with yet more shabbily arrogant accoutrement. 

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

The Green began as a series of house shows and through Eddie’s ambition and never ending drive has become a weekly series of live music that draws well more than a hundred people each and every Wednesday. Of course, Eddie did not build this alone, nor does he manage it all himself. He has a crew of terrific volunteers that show up week in and week out to make the Green a reality. He also has had some help from a few famous friends in a little outfit you may have heard of called Hootie & The Blowfish. 

Ultimately, Awendaw Green is a space built around community. It might be forged on music, but the people are what keep Eddie so hard at work. We talk about the privilege of being able to give someone a transformational experience with a night of music and community. Eddie also shares how his Dad gave him a love for throwing a party and showed him the weird world of Renaissance fairies as a kid. 

Even during our conversation Eddie White is on the go. As we chatted, he headed off to Costco to snag more fixings for the pizza kitchen at the Green. You’ll hear a bit of digital dropout at a couple of spots during our interview, but don’t fret, we recover quickly. 

Here now is the whirlwind that is Eddie White, the man behind the amazing Awendaw Green. Enjoy.

Cheers,
Matty C

Leave a comment

2 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com