What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
What Am I Am Making Podcast #001 - Pete Dominick
6
0:00
-1:09:33

What Am I Am Making Podcast #001 - Pete Dominick

Here we go. The beginning of the actual, literal conversation of living a more deliberate life through involvement in the arts.
6

When I first began to formulate a way to collect all the disparate ideas in my head and turn them into a podcast, blog, conversation, just something, I was always stuck in the mud. There were a million sparks and flashes. But they felt much more like a hundred fireflies flittering around than a cohesive universe of thought and philosophy.

The more I hemmed and hawed, the more impatient I got deep within my bones. After months of ruminating, and obsessing over minute details about delivery and concept and platform, I reached out to Pete and did the simplest thing of all. I asked for help from someone that I admired.

Share

I’d been a fan of Pete’s work for years as a host of a national radio show on Sirius XM called Stand Up with Pete Dominick. Pete and his team at XM were a part of my daily commute and in a way, a group of office mates I loved spending time with but would never get to know. Even my youngest daughter became a fan and developed an endearing affection for Pete and the callers and guests.

Each episode was always sure to include a solid moment or two to begin your day. I learned a few things and laughed a lot. Much of the time I got to share that with my kid in the years she was becoming a young adult.

When Pete’s show was cancelled in the Fall of 2019, it felt like a hole in my work day. I had lost my morning friends. Oh the loss that was coming for all of us in the months to come. I was also hurting for the loss suffered by someone I had come to see as a friend even though we had never talked.

Not long after the end of his show, Pete was back to work with a new podcast. Over the last three and half years, the loss of a secure corporate job has transformed him from a simple host into a one man mini-empire operating from a tiny, solar powered shed in Rockland County, NY.

Give a gift subscription

This swift and seismic change has led to the best work of his career, and a community built platform that has transformed his life, my life, and so many more. He’s all of that done by asking people one simple question, “Will you talk to me?”

Pete’s work and success as an independent creator has been an inspiration to my work here. When I asked Pete how to get started, he said, “Just start recording chats and see what happens. It’s the easiest way to find out what you’re doing.”

Actually, I am pretty sure that’s a misquote, but it sums up the essence of his sage advice.

I took his advice and that has led us here. Here is my chat with my friend, Pete Dominick. I’ve also included a little intro at the top to give you all a bit of context about the overall mission of this project and I how I arrived at this point.

Be sure to listen and subscribe to the Stand Up With Pete Dominick to get caught up on the great work that Pete has been doing for a very long time.

Stand Up With Pete Patreon page

Stand Up With Pete on Apple podcasts
Stand Up With Pete on Spotify podcasts
Stand Up With Pete on Stitcher

Here’s episode #001 of the What Am I Making podcast. Enjoy.

Be sure to let us know what you think in the comments section. And give us a rating on your podcast app of choice. I mean sure, a great review on all the platforms would be great, but we’ll take what you‘re willing to give.

Thanks for being here,
Matty C

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

6 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com