What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
What Am I Making #016 - Kevin and Scott Robertson of The Vapour Trails
0:00
-1:07:46

What Am I Making #016 - Kevin and Scott Robertson of The Vapour Trails

Learning to play guitar, writing songs, fatherhood, and being saved by your son.

What Am I Making is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

When I was a teenager, I would have told you that my dream of a trip to England was to play Royal Albert Hall, The Hacienda or The Cavern. I envisioned of my own version of Live At Leeds. To my teenage brain, success meant hallowed halls, superstardom and household names.

What I could never have imagined was that more than three decades after I held that calcified belief aloft, my own dream of success would now look a lot more like a two week house tour of the UK and the chance to visit new friends in Scotland than it would tearing around the great halls of Europe.

Success certainly never would have been the first word my teenage self would have used to describe a fifty something year old dude and his son who had a band together in Aberdeen. And success would never have been a word I would use to describe a band partially willed into being by a 20 year old young man with wicked talent trying to get his old man to rock out a bit again for the first time in decades.

No photo description available.
The Vapour Trails on stage in October of 2020. Scott is on the left, and Kevin is the guitarist on the right.

Yet, success is the theme of the story. Just not in the conventional sense of the word. Kevin and Scott Robertson are a father and son who are not just sharing their passion with each other, they are pushing each other to grow as musicians and songwriters.

Share

They say that nothing harmonizes like blood and the Robertsons are living proof. From their original songs in The Vapour Trails, a variety of cover versions that Scott and Kevin regularly share on social media as well as a gorgeous acoustic cover that the pair submitted last year as a part of the Guided By Voices tribute project I did over at Phonophore Records.

No photo description available.

That harmony is natural, as is their report in our chat here. What’s more the Robertsons were welcoming and wonderfully good natured as they shared their story of family as music, and music as family.

No photo description available.
The most recent Vapor Trails full length, Underneath Tomorrow was released on Detroit’s Futureman Records in the summer of 2022.

Getting the chance to know Scott and Kevin a bit better, I was amazed that the work they have been doing in the Vapour Trails has all happened in the last five year, and all while they have held down full-time day jobs, navigated Covid, been included in their local football scene, and have also managed to carveout a life for themselves as well outside of music.

Leave a comment

It is easy to talk about distant fathers, absent parents and young folks who no longer wanna play live music. All of those stereotypes and more are obliterated - or at least mildly dented - in the chat that follows.

I am so thrilled to have the chance to share the story of The Vapour Trails, Kevin and Scott Robertson, and their corner of the world up in Aberdeen. It was even more exciting that after we stopped recording, I realized that I had completely forgotten to talk to the two of them about their upcoming gig at the aforementioned Cavern Club! I quickly hit record again and managed to get in another stint of good stuff before the Robertsons headed off into the Scottish sunset.

LISTEN TO THE VAPOUR TRAILS ON BANDCAMP

Here is proof once again that there are good people doing good things in this world. Doing these things because they have to be done, for no reason other than that primal need to get it out into the ether. Scott snd Kevin’s lives are enhanced immeasurably by sharing their musical passion with each other. My ether is better off for the Robertsons finding a spot within it. I feel pretty certain yours will be too.

Cheers,
Matty C

0 Comments
What Am I Making
What Am I Making Podcast
Hey there. I’m Matty C. For the formally inclined folks in the crowd, the official designation is Matt Carlson.
I am a 50 year old musician, songwriter, and graphic designer that's spent the Covid era pondering deep and meaningful questions about music, film, literature and art in the 21st century.
It seems as though we’re living in age where musicians have to give their music away, content is around every corner and we don’t seem to really value much of any of it the way we used to.
What is it really like to make a living pursuing a life in the arts these days? Why are we seeing a lower percentage of artists in the workforce than at anytime in 100 years?
Now, I’ve reached a point of massive change in my life and I am preparing to spend more of my time, and hopefully, generating a portion of my income from my creative endeavors. That’s a terrifying endeavor, but it’s also incredibly exciting.
I’ll be discussing these ideas and a whole lot more of my own curiosity and creative endeavors on this platform using the written word, videos, podcasts, music and probably some other assets I learn along the way. I’ll be seeking out smart, and fascinating creatives as they build their own lives while fighting an ever-growing series of new challenges and opportunities.
All of these journeys and detours are an effort to share my exploration of culture in the modern world, and to help shine a brighter light on the work I have been doing for years as a musician, designer and podcaster.
This discussion is at the very center of our civilization, what it means to be human andhow to find a meaningful way to connect through that shared humanity in the form of artistic expression. Art is at the core of the relationship. Let’s explore it with that context, and that incalculable value, in mind.
If you enjoy what you hear on the show, please subscribe to my Substack where I also I post this podcast as well as a variety of essays, video and recordings regularly in my search to find out what art really matters to people right here and right now, and they are willing to do to invest in our culture.
Thank you so much for being here. It’s wonderful to have your support.
https://whatamimaking.substack.com